top of page
  • Writer's pictureIrish Food Writing Awards

2023 winners of the Irish Food Writing Awards:

Irish Food or Drink Podcast, judged by Nigel Barden,

sponsored by Sharon Noonan

Winner: Spice Bags Podcast

Cookery Writing Award, judged by Ed Smith

sponsored by Ardkeen Grocery

Winner: Beth O’Brien, Irish Times

Writing on Irish Food Producers,

judged by Charlotte Pike sponsored by Certified Irish Angus

Winner: Marie Claire Digby, Irish Times

Investigative Writing

judged by Dan Saladino

sponsored by Drummond House Garlic

Winners Maria Delaney, Geela Garcia and Louise Lawless of

Writing on Seafood Award

Sponsored by Glenmar Shellfish

Winner Janine Kennedy, Irish Country Living

Emerging Voice in Irish Food Writing

judged by Charlotte Pike

Sponsored by Clayton Hotels

Winner: Shamin deBrun, Char Food Guide

Irish Food Magazine/Supplement Award,

judged by Mina Holland,

sponsored by Invest Northern Ireland

Winner: Irish Times Magazine

Food Photography (professional category)

Judged by Joann Pai, sponsored by Odaois Foods

Winner: Ruth Calder-Potts

Food Photography (amateur category)

Judged by Joann Pai, sponsored by Odaois Foods

Winner: Sapana Behl

Irish Food Blog Award,

judged by Robb Walsh, sponsored by Pestle+Mortar sauces

Winner: “Botanical Cuisine Digest”

Technical University Dublin

Restaurant Feature Writing

Judged by Felicity Cloake

Sponsored by Safco Fine Foods

Winner: Marie Claire Digby, Irish Times

Writing on Sustainability in Irish Food Award

judged by Catherine Mack

Winner: Caroline Hennessy, The Examiner

Cookbook of The Year Award.

Judged by Colman Andrews

Sponsored by Gather&Gather

Winner: “Paradiso: recipes and reflections” by Dennis Cotter

Wine Writing Award

Judged by Fiona Beckett

Sponsored by Whelehans Wines

Winner: Mick O’Connell, Food and Wine Magazine

Spirits Writing Award, judged by Rachel McCormack,

sponsored by Powerscourt Distillery.

Winner: Janine Kennedy, Irish Country Living

Beer Writing Award

judged by Richard Croasdale,

sponsored by Franciscan Well

Winner: Gary Law, Belfast Telegraph

Culinary Student Award

Judged by Jess Murphy and Gareth Mullins

Sponsored by Kerrygold

Winner: Gavin McDonagh, Technical University Dublin

Food Writing Award, judged by Deborah Reid,

sponsored by Bord Bia

Winner: Aoife Carrigy, Irish Independent

Writing on International Cuisines.

Judged by Anjula Devi,

sponsored by Ruchii Blackrock

Winner: Vritti Bansal, Irish Times

Irish Food on Instagram/Tiktok Award.

Judged by Andy Clarke, sponsored by Coole Swan

Winner: Char Food Guide

Restaurant Critic Award

judged by Xanthe Clay and Tom Parker Bowles,

sponsored by Safco Fine Foods

Winner: Joe McNamee, Irish Examiner

Outstanding Achievement in Food Writing Award

Sponsored by James Whelan Butchers

Winner: John and Sally McKenna

221 views0 comments


bottom of page